Identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment course
BY: Metro Source Staff | October 26, 2012
New York state recognizes certain professionals as holding the important role of mandated reporter — required by law — of child abuse or maltreatment.
Mandated reporters include professionals like day care center workers, school-age child care workers, teachers, doctors and social workers.
Non-mandated reporters include friends, relatives, neighbors and concerned citizens.
The reason to make a report is to get help for the child and the family.
More than 740,000 children and youth are treated in hospital emergency departments as a result of violence each year — that’s more than 84 every hour.
This New York state approved curriculum uses a balance of lecture, interactive exercises and video segments to address definitions, physical and behavioral indicators, legal responsibilities and making a report to the State Central Register.
Attendance is open to the public. Participants will receive a NYS Certificate of Completion following the workshop. The instructor is Ann Marie Tucker, J.D., Vice-President, Foundation/Community Relations, Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center, and formerly Executive Director of the Child Advocacy Center of Niagara for 14 years.
The course will be held on from 6 to 8:30 p.m. Nov. 13, at Orleans/Niagara BOCES, Technology and Conference Center, 4124 Saunders Settlement Road, Sanborn. Deadline for registering is Nov. 8.
The $30 course fee is due the evening of the program.
Make checks or money orders payable to Orleans/Niagara BOCES.
To register email name, mailing address and daytime phone number to Sally Scheffler, firstname.lastname@example.org or call 800-836-7510, ext. 3752.
For more information or register online by clicking the Child Abuse Course Quick Link on BOCES home page at www.onboces.org.